new-slicer-badge

I am having reading withdrawal right now.

Bad, bad, bad withdrawal!

You see, I usually average two or more books per week, but the past month has been incredibly intense, and I have only finished two during that entire time!

I am on the edge of a major toddler in need of a snack and a nap caliber meltdown.

So I am going to think happy thoughts and list the next six titles I intend to read when life gets close to being normal again.

I want to dig back into Writing with Mentors, a professional book I currently have on pause. It’s good stuff, people!

I will be reading Hidden Figures and Hillbilly Elegy. I have heard great things about both. One is in my car, riding around with me, hoping to be noticed, while the other sits and stares at me from my nightstand.

My steady reading diet mostly consists of YA titles, so of course those make the list too!

I just downloaded the audio of Veronica Roth’s latest, Carve the Mark.  Surely I can manage that! I have wanted to read it for awhile, so I need to take advantage of the convenience.

Twitter reviews of The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas have it high on my TBR wishlist. Everyone I follow who has mentioned it has raved, and they tend to be pretty trustworthy folks.

My students and I are currently reading Night, which has renewed my hunger for read-alikes, thus The Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse rounds out my list.

In truth, I could go on listing until my entire summer of reading time is outlined for all to know, but I want to allow myself room for change.

Reading doesn’t just make me happy– it fills a need down deep in my soul.  It also is my biggest, most powerful tool as a teacher.

Each school year, I start with a reading and personal information inventory/survey.  I use that information to then make a personalized, handwritten book recommendation list for every single student in my classes. Each list must have a minimum of six or seven titles or authors. (Self-imposed limit. It makes an index card look mostly full.)  When they compare with their classmates– as they inevitably do to see whether I am being honest about each one being different– they are always surprised to see that I meant what I said about giving each one of them individual time, energy, and thought.  I immediately follow that with a book tasting, and I make sure titles I have listed are available to catch their eyes. It works remarkably well.

The lists are one of the most important things I do all year, and I make sure they glue it into their notebook first thing. It’s always there in case they are struggling while looking for a book, but it is also an ongoing reminder that I really will listen to them as individuals. It’s proof that is hard to dispute.

My guilty pleasure,  sticking my nose in a book for hours, is a little more justifiable this way– especially when I ignore other responsibilities in life in order to dedicate that time.

Man! I really need to go read!

Two classes of cards:

