I don’t watch much television and probably couldn’t even list many shows currently playing if you asked me to do so. I am, however, a sucker for home renovation shows. Property Brothers, Flip or Flop, and all their friends can pull me in when they happen to be playing and I walk through the room. My husband is a fan of them, so that happens occasionally. I’ve even binge-watched them a few times and then wondered where the time has gone!

Don’t ask me why I like them so much! I can paint- poorly- and with the help of YouTube, I have managed some appliance repairs in times of crisis, but I am not Ms. Handy. I also REALLY like my space, so I’m certainly not in the market for a tiny house!  We are not moving any time soon, and the money element blows my mind more often than not.

This strange obsession of mine is something I need to keep in mind when I make book recommendations.  I tend to base them on things I know about students, playing to their strengths and interests.  For reluctant readers, that’s a great place to start. But, everyone isn’t reluctant, and some need to be pushed to explore. I need to remember to probe further in what they might like to read, because they might have a hidden interest like my secret obsession.

You never know! They may flip over it, or it may flop, but I should definitely consider renovating my go-to list for next fall and include some titles with texture and pop.

 
 

